TheLink logo header image American Spirit Home Page Sumter Smarter Growth Initiative
Higher Education

Higher Education in Sumter County

Sumter County is home to seven colleges and universities, and is within an hour's drive of more than a dozen others.

The University of South Carolina Sumter is a 2-year branch campus of the University of South Carolina system. This liberal arts college has an enrollment of about 1,100, and can award degrees in multiple fields. USC Sumter recently began an athletic program, and the USC Sumter Fire Ants now field baseball, softball and basketball.

Central Carolina Technical College is a vocational school in Sumter, with branch campuses in three adjacent counties. With an enrollment of about 3,000, CCTC awards two-year degrees in numerous fields, including accounting, nursing and elementary education.

Morris College is an historically black, coeducational, liberal arts college, operated by the Baptist Educational and Missionary Convention of South Carolina. The College is committed to promoting the intellectual and personal development of every one of its students.

In addition to these institutions of higher education, Sumter's Shaw Air Force Base housed branch campuses of four major universities, including Troy State University and Embry Riddle Aeronautical University, where students can receive both undergraduate and graduate degrees.

Higher Education Links


Black River Spec Building 4
Black River Spec Building 4

This 104,600SF spec facility can cut up to a year off a company’s startup time. Owned by Sumter County and located in Sumter’s Black River Airport Industrial Park, this flexible and expandable facility has all utilities available. Click the photo for details.

Click the photo for details.

Search All Properties
Become an Investor
  Contact Us 32 E. Calhoun St. Sumter, SC 29150
(800) 888-7926 | (803) 418-0700
© 2017 Sumter Economic Development
Website by Marketing Alliance, Inc.